Yet another Austinite

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TopDog

Reaction score
Been lurking here a few weeks. Figured it was time to introduce myself.:eek:

I started brewing way back in the early nineties while living in northern Virginia. Ordered a starter kit complete with the obligatory 6-gallon plastic bucket and prehopped extract. Brewed up a pretty yeasty, but drinkable, ale. Quickly moved to a 7 gallon canning pot and a cajun cooker, but kept with the extract kits for a few more months. Graduated to all-grain and kept it up off and on for four or five years, but never really brewed more than 5 or 6 batches a year. My setup was makeshift and labor intensive and I really hated bottling. (Still do.)

Moved to a bigger house and other priorities made me set brewing aside for a while, although I tried to stay with it. I even bought a kegging setup, but lost interest after a year or so. Can't really figure out why, although it may have been that I never really fell in love with my results.:(