Yeast Carbonation test came up flat

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

FlyingDutchman

Reaction score
So if you couldn't tell already, I am brand new to this and in need of some guidance. I have been reading up on making root beer and carbonating it using yeast (From what I have read the startup cost of force carbonation is way too restrictive to justify the large cash outlay before I determine if I will enjoy it enough).

I conducted a little experiment to see what levels of carbonation this method could produce. I wanted to remove all variables except the carbonation, so I set out to make a sweet watery type of yeasty beverage (sounds appitizing right?). From the standpoint of a noob, everything I did should have worked and at least produced a semi-carbonated "beverage". This however, did not happen and I ended up opening up a pressurized bottle of sugar water with yeast... So now I am seeking out help to figure out what I missed.

Here is what I did:

Hardware:
-1 empty 1L soda water bottle
-1 Funnel (I really didnt need to list this, but my hardware list looked rather anemic with just one thing on it)...

Software:
-4 oz sugar
-Filtered water (from a Watermill Express which I highly reccommend if you can find one. They filter their water 7 times using no chemicals and inspect their stations 1-2 times daily. But I digress)
-1/8 teaspoon yeast (Fleischman's baker's yeast)

Procedure:
-poured in dry ingredients then filled the bottle with the room temperature water to about 1" from the top. Capped the bottle and shook till sugar disolved.