Working on my own brewing spreadsheet/software Need Input

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bigarcherynut

Reaction score
I have been brewing for a few years and the last few years have gone BIAB with my home built E-Kettle. After struggling to find the best software have been working with 3 programs. Bru'n Water, Priceless Brewing and BeerSmith 2. I've tried them all.

I find myself all over the place when entering my data so I recently created an Excel Spreadsheet that I can enter my brewing data and notes as I brew. This has made it easier to get the data I need to track how my build works and how I'm doing with the whole process. As I'm understanding more about grain, potential, water chemistry, my system, water volume and such, I have added more and more to my spreadsheet. Water volume had been a struggle because multiple software programs gave me different amounts and became confusing on what to enter because of doing BIAB and I do not sparge. My spreadsheet is becoming a working program that works directly with my build.

Where I'm at now is making cells to automatically calculate efficiencies. What I would like to know is which ones are really necessary to have and are there any straight forward formulas for each. Not looking to get in the market for competing with everyone with software, just looking to have one that works for me and my system.

Any help would be appreciated.

One thing to watch out for with braukaiser's formulas is that many of them only work correctly with metric units.

If you want to reverse engineer a spreadsheet to get formulas for conversion efficiency, lauter efficiency, and mash efficiency, you can find one here.

Brew on :mug: