Wiring diagram thoughts

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tulsabrewdaddy

Reaction score
This is my first attempt at drawing a wiring diagram. Please give me some comfort or some ideas on whether or not it will work....White wires are represented by the yellow lines (for obvious reasons). If I connect the ground wires from the pumps directly to the extention cord ground would that work? Also is one power cord enough to run all this or should I split that between two?

untitled.jpg

OneHoppyGuy said:
The neutrals should not be switched, other than that, it looks good.

Being new to the wiring game, I have no clue what you are talking about. Do you mind explaining?

*********** Edited because I originally posted questionable information:

The wiring diagrams for the switches indicate interuption of both paths to the load.

I'm no expert on the NEC, but it is my understanding that 110v hot & neutral can be switched if they are both switched at the same time. Is it necessary in this application, probably not. NEC says that you can't switch just the neutral.

If you don't want to switch neutral, you can run the neutral straight to your pumps, bypassing the switch. The switch will need a neutral on X1 for illumination. The switched hot on 14, jumpered to X2, will apply the hot for illumination. No connections are necessary on 23 & 24.

Safety related suggestions: Make connections in a moisture proof box, no exposed wire nuts. The pump manufacturer suggests using a GFCI protected circuit.