Wirgin brewer vs me beer kit

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rebelred

Reaction score
:mug: Hello ,
I am an absolute beginner. I plan to get my first batch up and running in a week or so ( when I get time) . I am using a kit to make pilnser. I bought a kit that has a bucket and a barrel for secondary ferment ?,,,,, my plan is to use what ever bottles I can get my hands on for the final bit....question ? will plastic ones eg coke a cola .5L do if sanitised and kept in the dark ?
I have already got a challenger to my non exsistant brew...one of my friends bought a Mr. Beer thingy and is using that to make a extra pale ale. How do them things turn out. ? any help to beat him is very welcome

hmmm...a challenge to beat up mr beer? sounds like fun!

are you near a homebrew shop? Check the internet to see if you are. That would be the best place to go for advice/equipment.

If not, to start with i would definitley use a secondary. Your beer will be cleaner, and BETTER in general.

i would choose an easier beer like a pale ale, or stout, or ipa as opposed to a pilsner, which is probably THE MOST DIFFICULT beer to make. Its much easier to brew a good tasting pa where you can make all kinds of mistakes and it justs adds character.

i would also use glass bottles. Its not that difficult to scavange 50 12 oz. bottles from a local bar or behind a restaraunt or hotel. Your gonna need some caps which can only be bought at a home brew shop either on line or in person.

Try to find bottles that arent too dirty, no visible mold or anything. Just soak them in hot soapy water for a few hours, rinse really well, then soak in a bleach/water solution overnight, then rinse really well, then repeat the soap water soak, rinse and your done.