Wine noob here. What to ferment in? Starter for yeast?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
1st kit is coming in the mail and I was just looking at the instructions and it says I need a 7.9g fermentor. I've got a bunch of 6.5G fermentors, but I guess that's not going to work. What do most people use? Bucket?

Also, do you winemakers make yeast starters? Rehydrate?

The instructions say to sanitize with kmeta, but I can just use starsan, right?

What's the trick to scoring 30 wine bottles? My plan at the moment is to beg at a local small Italian restaurant.

Most kits make 6 gallons so a 6.5 bucket is cutting it pretty close. I use buckets, the same ones I brew beer in....and use starsan. I do rehydrate all my dry yeasts, beer or wine.

Bottles can be a bottle neck! But, you have months to collect them, buy, beg, or steal them...kidding. Last week end I took a load of stuff in to the recycle center.....it was a wine and beer bottle gold mine! Had a whole list of chores and errands to run or I would have stocked up....the guy working there told me to get all I wanted, that's what they are for, to be recycled. I will be back there! You might check your local recycle center.

With 24,000 posts under your belt, I bet you can muddle your way through the process! Wine gets into the bucket much easier and faster that beer. Beer gets in the bottle much faster than wine. The best wine ingredient in my limited experience is time....more time...don't rush it.

Most kits make 6 gallons so a 6.5 bucket is cutting it pretty close. I use buckets, the same ones I brew beer in....and use starsan. I do rehydrate all my dry yeasts, beer or wine.