Wichita Rookie

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Schlotterbock

Reaction score
My name is Michael and I am from Wichita, KS. I just started home brewing in December, because I had a week off from work and nothing to do. I studied Chemistry and Business in college but have not been able to put my Chem degree to any use, so I figured home brew was the way to go.

I've made two batches of extract brew and think I'm ready to move on to all grain (meaning anxious to try). I've been lurking here for about a week gathering as much information and learning as much as possible, figured it was time to sign up and join the group!

Obsession is an understatement. I can't stop devising new plans to upgrade to All-Grain! I started working on plans for an RIMS or HERMS, but I think I'm getting ahead of myself.

I think I need to make an MLT out of a cooler, and slowly work my way up. Figured I should get good a making beer before I worry about control methods!

Hey, Schlotterbock, Welcome! I'm a newb too. I have my second batch in the fermenter right now.

I've spent some time in Witchita for work. I work for a firm that dose a lot of work for ICM out of Colwich. Two summers (the latest time I've been there) ago I was in Wichita for six weeks. We stayed at the hotel accross the street form Walmart, right by the interstate. Candlewood, I think is the name.

I've stayed there a few times on trips down there over the past five years. I really like Wichita. The "Old Town" area is really nice with lots of pubs to visit.

It's been my impresion every time I've been there, that it dosen't seem nearly as big as it is.