Which OG to trust more?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Alex4mula

Reaction score
I have a regular glass hydrometer, a refractometer and a Tilt. I did an extract Irish red ale brew on Saturday that have an expected 1.052 OG. When I measured the OG the glass one measured 1.050, the refractometer showed 1.053 and the Tilt 1.045. All of these measure exactly 1.000 on 60°F distilled water.

Are you topping up with water after a partial boil? It can be hard to get the wort to fully mix, so that could cause different samples to read different values.

I have also heard that tilts can be a bit unstable in any particular measurement. I would trust the other two more, but that is gut reaction as I have no experience with the Tilt myself.

Are you topping up with water after a partial boil? It can be hard to get the wort to fully mix, so that could cause different samples to read different values.

I have also heard that tilts can be a bit unstable in any particular measurement. I would trust the other two more, but that is gut reaction as I have no experience with the Tilt myself.

No topping up on this one.

Make sure you are correcting the hydrometer for temperature. For Example: Wort at 90 degrees F with a 1.055 reading on a refractometer will show a reading of 1.052 if your hydrometer is calibrated at 68 degrees F, but with adjustment it is 1.055.
Tilt may need to be re-calibrated. I don't have one but I plan to get one, not for accurate gravity but for tracking the end of fermentation.

All readings in all devices were taken at same beer temp of about 68°F. The Tilt was similarly off (lower) on my previous brew. I think I trust more the glass one for sure. I like the Tilt to track fermentation progress and beer temp. This one is going well :)

Tilt99.png