What would you do differently?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jrstaples1

Reaction score
I've been brewing for about 18 months using mostly kits (DME + specialty grains) put together by my LHBS. As one does, I have been growing into better equipment and processes. I am anticipating a big step to get off the stove top and switch to AG pretty soon. I acquired a couple of kegs, cut the tops, and I plan to add fittings to my 10 gal stockpot for a HLT. I suppose I will start with 5 and 10 gal infusion mashes in a 3 vessel setup, but I see myself pumping wort around eventually.

Before I make too many moves, I thought I'd put out a request for the insights of others. Of course, there is plenty of technical info to be found here, but what I'm curious about are personal insights. Briefly, what does your setup look like? Knowing what you know now, what would you do differently? What are the things you got right? Did you get equipment somewhere and then find better options somewhere else?

Thanks in advance for your insights. This has been such a valuable resource, and I'm not sure I'd be making drinkable beer now if it weren't for this forum :mug:

I use 2x 5 gallon pots on the stove and a 12 gallon MLT.

If I were to do it again I'd get a couple of larger pots (or a NG burner, maybe) and a bigger MLT.

If I had to do it again, I'd save money and go straight to high quality 15g kettles. I went cheapo and small initially and ended up sellling and taking a loss. Another huge one would be to also spend the money on a SS brewstand. I went with steel and painted it with high temp paint. It peels off everytime and looks like crap. CFC instead of plate chiller or IC.