Motueka hops

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

46andbrew

Reaction score
So I wanted to brew a pale ale and use all motueka hops. I have never used this hop before but the qualities of it sound great. So I'm sure some of u used them and do u guys think it would be good in an pale ale or ipa

Motueka is a fabulous hop. I've made a PA (in my recipes) with this and Pac Gem and it turns out fantastic. Such a unique aroma from NZ hops.

I've got an all NZ hopped beer in bottles now I named Maori IPA after NZ's original inhabitants. It's a PB/PM BIAB,using pacific gem for bittering,& motueka,pacifica,& wakatu for flavor & dry hop. It was bottled 5/25/13. So it'll be 2 weeks in bottles this Saturday. Danag,I hate waiting a coup[le more weeks to try it. gunna send yooper & my daighter a couple bottles to try. Yoop thought it sounded interesting,so I'll def look forward to her opinion on my most current pm escapade.

Motueka is 2/3 Saaz and tastes like it. I get orange with the floral, spicy Saaz notes. Other folks describe the citrus flavor of this hop as lemon/lime. I think the citrus character is yeast dependant, I've only used farmhouse strains with, maybe a cleaner ale strain will be different.

Motueka is 2/3 Saaz and tastes like it. I get orange with the floral, spicy Saaz notes. Other folks describe the citrus flavor of this hop as lemon/lime. I think the citrus character is yeast dependant, I've only used farmhouse strains with, maybe a cleaner ale strain will be different.

The strain I had was citrusy, but almost melon-y. It wasn't like anything else i've used.