Best Brew Shop Ever

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NoVaBrewer

Reaction score
To anyone reading, what makes an ideal brew shop? Share your stories about the best and worst Brew Shop Experience you've had and what made it that way.

The ideal brew shop? Well that is easy.

1. Open during hours most would need supplies. 10-8 M-S perhaps 11-4 Sunday.
2. Fully stocked at all times. Nothing worse than going to get something simple like a pack of US-05 and they have none.
3. Good product turn over so the items you purchase are indeed fresh.
4. Friendly staff that is helpful and takes good care of the newbies. I stopped going to a brew shop near my house due to not being treated well and not getting straight forward answers to simple questions when I was a newbie.

Ideal brew shop?

I'd start with having a brew shop to begin with. Right now, north Alabama (Huntsville area) doesn't have a dedicated brew shop although a local hippy/organic food type place does have some supplies. I hear the grain ends up smelling like incense, so it's strictly a side show for them.

One is supposed to be opening near the Madison/Hsv border on Hwy 72/University, so maybe things will get better around here. :ban:

The ideal brew shop? Well that is easy.

1. Open during hours most would need supplies. 10-8 M-S perhaps 11-4 Sunday.
2. Fully stocked at all times. Nothing worse than going to get something simple like a pack of US-05 and they have none.
3. Good product turn over so the items you purchase are indeed fresh.
4. Friendly staff that is helpful and takes good care of the newbies. I stopped going to a brew shop near my house due to not being treated well and not getting straight forward answers to simple questions when I was a newbie.