Grain Pound Question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I wasn't sure whether or not to put this in the AG section or Beginner's section so I chose here.

I first really got into brewing because my career is as such that I am a Molecular Biologist/ Microbiologist (B.S in Biochemistry). The science behind beer really had me interested and I spent most of my first days brewing with coworkers while collecting up and isolating a bunch of different yeast strains (if you don't filter your beer I've probably isolated your yeast). Something rewarding about taking yeast on the brink of death in a bottle and resuscitating it back in the lab.

I have brewed many different batches with coworkers, but I am now taking the plunge and building my own equipment. I am going to make a 5 gallon mash-tun (don't try and convince me otherwise).

Now my question really is two fold.

Being a scientist, I plan on doing quite a bit of experimentation in terms of yeast mixing, hop additions, etc. My question is that with a 5 gallon mash-tun can I lower my grain bill to finish a wort at potentially a 3 gallon batch or even lower? Some of my co-workers are a bit less OCD as I am when it comes to determining these things, and their response is "cram as much grain as we can fit".

I just want to know if it is feasible for myself to be doing smaller batches within a larger mash-tun, or will I be running the risk of loss of efficiency during conversion. Maybe someone has a thread they can point me to?

Anyways, I look forward to sharing my experiences, hopefully I can add some unique perspectives as I have some capabilities others don't with some fancy shmancy machines.

Thanks all and happy brewing.:rockin: