Salvaging yeast from a comercial keg?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

plumber_bob

Reaction score
I'm new to harvesting yeast. I ferment in 1/2 barrel commercial kegs.

When I transfer to my cornies I get some sediment that I figure is yeast. And I get what I'm sure is yeast from each corny when I tap them.

The thing is, I find that in each case a bunch is left in all three kegs.

Were is the best place to harvest from? And how much starter to get it ready for the next pitch?

How would I know if I have enough to pitch after I do a starter?

pb

You can harvest yeast after primary fermentation from your primary container. In the simplest method, you literally scoop up some of the trub at the bottom and if you plan to brew within a week or so, you can just store it in a sanitized jar in the fridge and pitch that.

I learned a bunch about how many yeast cells are in trub in this thread. Basically, for most normal strength beers, you'd need about a cup of yeast cake to pitch into your next beer. That is just a gross approximation.

If you want to keep your yeast longer and reuse it later, you should wash it. More info here.

I made a calculator to tell you how many yeast cells you have in washed yeast. After you know how many yeast cells you have, you enter that into a yeast pitching rate calculator like yeastcalc.com and it will tell you what size starter you need for your beer.

What I've started doing and I think it's easier than washing yeast is harvesting from the starter. More details here. Basically you make a bigger starter than you need and pitch part of it into your next beer and keep a portion for use later.