Dry hops. Does this look right?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HokieHomeBrewer

Reaction score
So I dry hopped for the first time....my LHBS recommended 2 oz ofwhole leaf (which I've never used before) and when I asked about bagging with a weight he said, "Nah if you're using a bucket just toss them in." So that's what I did. I let it sit for 7 days and opened my bucket and saw this....I didn't expect them to "sink" but I had expected more absorption. Does this look typical or should I have gone the bag route? Cheers.

943455_10101725576871973_1708180218_n.jpg

I would think the hops would need to be in contact with the beer for the oils to be extracted, maybe the hops on the top did not do anything for your brew???

I would think the hops would need to be in contact with the beer for the oils to be extracted, maybe the hops on the top did not do anything for your brew???

That's what I was thinking. I picked up a few from the top and they were semi-damp but who knows. I'm not that worried, it tastes fine and at works I guess I wasted an ounce of hops?

I'm more concerned about getting the technique down correctly so I can do it better next time.

A lot of people bag them and weigh down the bag with a sanitized stainless steel ball bearing or marble. It's a good way to make sure all of your hops get down in the beer.