Twist cap bottles

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Richard Hemmerde

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Hello all, I am new to HB and I am currently fermenting my first batch, hopefully I'll should be bottling in a few days.
My question is about the twist cap bottles I have. Do I need a special cap and capper for them or are they capped as any regular bottle?
Thank you for any help

Hello all, I am new to HB and I am currently fermenting my first batch, hopefully I'll should be bottling in a few days.
My question is about the twist cap bottles I have. Do I need a special cap and capper for them or are they capped as any regular bottle?
Thank you for any help

If you mean the brown twist-cap glass bottles, they're not made to be used again with caps. You need the kind with the pry-off cap. With the twist-off bottles, capping them sometimes works, sometimes it doesn't, and you risk a lot of beer with caps not sealing.

One theory about Sam Adams and their pry-off bottle caps is that they knew home brewers would want those bottles for re-use, so they made them with pry-off caps. Don't know if it's true, but it's a good story.

My local homebrew store sells cases of 24 bottles for $12/case. That's not free, but it's not bad. Maybe you can look into that.

Another option is craigslist. Sometimes people have beer bottles for sale there. Sometimes even for free: https://madison.craigslist.org/zip/d/madison-beer-brewing-bottles-wine/6934010761.html

No, twist off bottles won't work, if you try to cap them they won't seal. Then you'll probably end up with uncarbed and oxygenated beer lol.