This sucks 1st time bottling

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
It's ok for the bottle tops to touch the wood?

The only reason I didn't do something similar is that I worried about the bottles touching the wood and the wood soaking up water and getting nasty over time. Being a noob I'm probably just being way too careful.

The wood dries out fairly quickly - it's not a whole lot of water anyway. If I put a bunch of bottles on it and soak the wood, it'll be bone-dry by the morning. Plus, I think I read somewhere that wood has naturally-occuring anti-bacterial properties (here's something). Anyway I'm only a few batches in, but no problems so far.:mug:

Tried and tested method with Canadian and British bottles:

1) Submerge bottles for approx 4 hours (I leave overnight) in cold water with a good squirt of washing up liquid + white spirit.
2) Submerge any bottles still with labels in warm/hot water (a kettle full of boiling water into a sink and top up with cold).
3) Rinse
4) Sanitise

I tend to do steps 1 and 2 after I finish every crate of beer and then leave in garage until needed for bottling.

After pouring a beer, I rinse the bottle, open the dishwasher and set it on the rack until it's dry. After that, it goes into an old case until it's time for bottling again

I just use my dishstrainer after using a bottlebrush/baking soda hot water.If you balance them upside down leaning against each otherthey all fit stategicly laying against each other.YOu can sanirinse them dry then store then resanitized on bottleing day. thats all you gotta do. Its easiest if you always use a glass and dont put your dirtymouth on the botttles. You virtually have a clean bottle if you rinse well with hot water after you use them shortly.

Big_Belgian said: