The Pastorizer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brewpastor

Beer, not rocket chemistry
Reaction score
Here are my plans for The Pastorizer jacketed conical fermenter.

I have been threatening to do this for 3 years and I think the time has come!

I have two slightly different size hoppers from Toledo Metal Spinning. One hopper nests in the other with about a 1/4" space between. I will have the bottom of the outer jacket cut a few inches up from the bottom of the inner cone and sealed with a welded ring/plate to the inner cone at that point. 1" inlet and outlet ports will be welded to the outer jacket and the top lips of the hoppers (which have been cut by Toledo Metal Spinning to be the same OD) will be welded together.

jacketedfermenter.png

EdWort said:
Sweet! How will you maintain temp? Glycol?

Yes, gycol. I have my big glycol chiller, but it is over-kill I think.

P1010911.jpg

I think I will just have a glycol tank in the bottom of my freezer with a sump pump wired into a Ranco controller circulating everything.

These are the tanks I will use. If you look, you can see that the one on the right is slightly smaller then the left one. I have different tops now and am not currently chilling them. I will lose capacity but gain control which is fine with me!

As a fellow man of the cloth I know it is a sin to covet....But DAYUMMMM!!!!!!!!!:D

I'm humbled, and truly impressed.....

(stumbles off to find a Catholic Collegue to have confession with....)

:mug:

Is it just going to be open space between the 2 vessels? Most of the jacketed equipment I work with (chemical reactors) have the jacket run in a spiral around the inner vessel.

Liquidicem said: