Negitive Residual Alkalinity

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

churdbird

Reaction score
I'm new to using Ez-water spreadsheet. My last two batches keep showing a negative r/a? I can assume that this isn't normal? And is it really a problem that I need to worry about? Negative effects?

Actually it IS normal to see residual alkalinity at or below zero, however we'll have to wait for one of the water experts to tell us why. All I know is that you are generally aiming for your residual alkalinity to be <20s, and close to zero (either way) is great.

Residual alkalinity is defined as

RA = alkalinity - ([Ca++] + [Mg++]/2)/3.5

[Ca++] and [Mg++] are the concentrations of calcium ions and magnesium ions, respectively, in the same units as alkalinity (i.e. ppm as CaCO3 or mEq/L) and the RA is then in those same units.

Obviously, if the alkalinity is negative (which it is if you add acid to the water) or if the alkalinity is low or 0 (DI water) and the calcium or magnesium high you will have negative RA. The latter is the case with some Burton waters. There is that much bicarbonate (alkalinity) but there is a ton of calcium from gypsum. These waters have RA's varying from minus a few ppm to -60 or more ppm as CaCO3. This is why IPA is possible without acid addition.

Residual alkalinity is defined as

RA = alkalinity - ([Ca++] + [Mg++]/2)/3.5

[Ca++] and [Mg++] are the concentrations of calcium ions and magnesium ions, respectively, in the same units as alkalinity (i.e. ppm as CaCO3 or mEq/L) and the RA is then in those same units.