Green Beer, Tap Water, Fermentation Temps

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

s1911

Reaction score
Hello, I have been brewing for a few months and have made about 3 or 4 beers so far... and I have noticed a pattern in my beers... they all have a funny, bitter, off taste to them. I know there are millions of threads about this and that and green beer but I want opinions on my specific situation. I typically have been boiling about 4 gallons.. and ending up with 3.5 gallons after a 60 minute boil give or take a little bit. The rest I top off with tap water, which to my knowledge is not a problem in my area as we have pretty good tap water around here. My past few beers have had an off, sour taste to them and I kind of doubt its the tap water but I'm not sure.

I've been fermenting around 70-72 degrees sadly... Although I have two more batches fermenting in another room which I discovered stays about 5 degrees cooler, allowing my beer to ferment around 67-68 degrees.

Also, for the past couple of beers I have made, I have kept them in primary for a week and in secondary for a week, then bottled... currently I am only doing primary on my current batches for about 3-4 weeks to see how that works out. I typically start cracking into my brew around 2 weeks in the bottle... and none of my beers have outlived 4 weeks in the bottle... so I am not ruling out my beer just being green and me being a noob... but does anyone think it could be something else? such as my tap water, racking times, fermentation temp, or maybe its just not enough conditioning time in both fermentation and in the bottle... I will admit I can be impatient...