SS passivation a myth?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
We don't seem to have any chemists here, at least none that chose to reveal themselves, and metallurgists (like Palmer) are apparently not good enough... ;-) Brewers are a tough crowd.

Chemists?? We don't need no stinking chemists, we got RPh-Guy!

So, very interesting read. I’m a certified welder and have forgotten a lot of the specifics over the years, reading this thread has brought back a lot of the theory.

I build parts for race cars, and use mostly 304, 316L and 321. Some observations:

Same-grade examples vary by quality depending on where they are sourced. In my experience, 304 from a quality source, intended for the food and beverage industry, out performs similar looking 304 sourced from overseas in many ways. I once stretched a piece of the good stuff from 3.0” diameter to over 4.0” using a tube expander (used to create slip fits) and I couldn’t believe it didn’t break. It just kept stretching. I tried the same with a piece of imported 304 (markings clearly visible) and it cracked with the slightest bit of pressure applied. You would think that if they are calling it 304, it w have the same composition right? Well it means little if the source is not trustworthy. I’ve seen similar results with rusting of exhaust systems. The good stuff stays clean while the cheap stuff starts to surface rust. 304 is not even intended for heat applications, but the good stuff works well under the stresses of exhaust heat, all the way up to the turbo.

So why do I mention this? I imagine that the same varieties of material exist in the brewing world. Just because it’s 304 or 309 or 316, it doesn’t mean much unless they used good quality stuff from a reputable source.