Soda/beer lines

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

eapoll11

Reaction score
This is my first time making a rootbeer. Does the rootbeer ruin your beer lines if im putting it on tap? Couldnt i clean my lines out with pbw or oxygen cleaner to get the root beer flavor out?

This is my first time making a rootbeer. Does the rootbeer ruin your beer lines if im putting it on tap? Couldnt i clean my lines out with pbw or oxygen cleaner to get the root beer flavor out?

Trust me, root beer will NEVER come out. Ever, ever, ever, ever.

The other thing, soda is much more highly carbed than beer. So you may need soda at 30 psi, and 25-30' of line to balance that. So I'd suggest some dedicated beer line, with its own QD, just for root beer.

Did I mention that it will never come out? :D

Sprite/7up/etc will also stick around longer than you'd think, but root beer will NEVER come out.

Ever.

Ever.

Ask me how I know................................................

No, you should really dedicate lines to your rootbeer/soda setup. Especially in regards to rootbeer you will never get the flavor out. You'll probably also want about 30' of lines for your soda or use epoxy mixing tubes in your liquid out dip tube in your keg, so you can pour the soda at 30 PSI.

On my 6 tap keezer I've got 4 taps dedicated to beer and 2 dedicated to soda/kombucha.

To add I did not believe that rooter would last THAT long. Well it DOES trust me... I now have a 3gl pinlock keg with its own picnic tap so I can never mix it up AGAIN

But as for the keg I mean obviously they may have been used for rootbeer in the past. You don't reuse the same one? or can I give it a good clean, maybe have separate O-rings, and use the keg for beer?