Setting up my Brew Cave. New guy doesn't have a clue!!!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Vintage Iron

Reaction score
St. Croix River Valley in Western Wisconsin
So....I'm brand new at this.

Never brewed beer other than at a local "brewery" that charges you a lot of money to "brew your own beer" which basically consists of dumping stuff into the boil and coming back two weeks to bottle it. (eyeroll)

I've been reading lots of your great forum posts and watching quite a few YouTube videos over the past month. I'm pretty sure I understand the basics.

Wash and sanitize EVERYTHING.

Boil
Sanitize
Cool
Sanitize
Pitch
Sanitize, blah, blah, blah....

I managed to score a sweet deal on a couple of Corny Kegs, a regulator, and a C02 tank off CL this past weekend. Yes, that's right...I've never brewed a drop of beer in my life, and the first purchase is a couple of kegs and a tank. (My wife of 20+ years is more than willing to confirm that I am "certifiable") :rolleyes:

Anyway, I already have a turkey burner with a 7gal aluminum pot that will work great for the boil. (My plan is to try a simple 5gal extract kit for the first brew.) We can upgrade to better boil equipment after a few batches if needed.