WSM Advice

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

EHV

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I've been using my Masterbuilt Electric for a few years now. I'm happy to an extent with the results. I like the ease of just setting it and going, but the addition of wood chips quite often gets old. I usually do ribs, butts, a brisket on occasion and salmon. Its small, and I have come to realize there really is no substitute for a good charcoal and wood smoke.
Everyone says it is easy to maintain temperature, but being skeptical, I find it hard to believe since dealing with my Weber grill I find it sometimes difficult to get a desired target. So, completely honest, how hard/easy is it? Aside from a digital meat thermometer, do you guys add anything else to the unit to make it more reliable?
The BGE is out of the questions as I would feel obligated to cook Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner on it for a year straight to not feel guilty about spending that much money.

I found my propane unit (2-door) with a big water pan to be easy to maintain temps and it put out lots of nice smoke. Charcoal seems like too much of a pain fiddling with vents and all.

With my kamado in set the vents per the temperature table and walk away. Come back 12+ hours to the same temp. No additional fuel or anything.

I'll let you know next week. Just got my 18.5 WSM today and will be smoking a chicken and a ham on Tuesday

By pretty much, how solid are you talking? I just did a shoulder in my Masterbuilt and it took roughly 16 hours. Will a WSM last that long and keep temp with a full basket of coal?
How much does ambient temp affect the smoker once its up and going?