Roasting Questions from a Newbie

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pshankstar

BIAB Homebrewer & Coffee Roaster
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I am new to coffee roasting and the lone active thread about coffee has been very helpful, I thought I should post these questions into a new thread so it doesn't get lost in the other one.

Thank you to all who have been helpful with my roasting questions to date and I look to you all for your input here too.

I hear about stopping the roasting after the first crack, 30 seconds, 60 seconds, 90 seconds etc... Does that time start after the start of the first crack? Or does that mean after the first crack has completed? This would be for a lighter roast.

I've read on Sweet Maria's website that doing a quick roast or high heat is beneficial for most beans. Yet it seems that some on here like to bring the heat up slowly. So I would assume this would be dependent on the bean you are roasting, right? With that being said, is there a general rule that some of you use? i.e. South American beans, heat fast. African beans heat slow and take your time. I'm using the Freshroast SR500, so I have a high, medium and low heat setting along with a fan that is controlled by a dial to adjust the fan speed.