Steeping Munich malt

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hey all,
Great resource here and my first time posting. I'm a complete newb when it comes to brewing, just bottled my first batch the other day and I'm patiently (or at least trying to be patient) waiting to see how it turned out. I'm planning on doing a second batch soon but have a couple of questions I'm hoping someone can clear up for me. I want to do a Nut Brown Ale for my next batch. After reading Palmer's guide to home brewing, I noticed he mentioned either adding hops or steeped grains to the batch to enhance the flavor of liquid malt extract kits so I thought I'd give it a try this time around. I'm currently planning on: 1.7kg of Black Rock Nut Brown Ale lme, 2kg of "medium" dme, nugget hops for bittering and fuggles for finishing, American Ale Yeast (Safale US-05). I want to try steeping a bit this time around so I ordered some Caramel 60l malt and Munich EBC1.9 malt. Some of these ingredients may be completely off, I don't know, as I said, I don't really know what I'm doing yet but also have very limited choices where I live in regards to homebrew ingredients/supplies. Anyways, after getting the Munich malt I found out that it needs to be mashed and can't really be used for steeping. I wasn't really planning on getting into mashing just yet, but I don't want this malt to go to waste.

Can I just "steep" the munich malt by itself in ~70C water for about 60 minutes? If I do this, can I include the caramel malt at the same time or should I do the caramel malt afterwards?
I don't have a grain bag. Is it really necessary if I have a strainer? Couldn't I just let the Munich malt and the Caramel malt float free and filter them out via strainer?