Airlock activity at 7 hrs & nothing after 16 hrs. Please Help.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ReggieDunlop

Reaction score
This is my first time using a dry yeast (Safale US-05). I pitched the dry yeast in to 70' wort and placed in a chest freezer set to 65'. At the 7 hour mark I saw two bubbles per minute with the wort holding at 65'.

When I woke up in the morning there was no activity and temp control read 62'. I re-set the lid and airlock on the fermenting bucket to make sure it was sealed properly and re-filled airlock with vodka to fill line. I also gave it a brief stir with a sanitized spoon. I saw some top floating yeast pockets but no krausen. I'm looking for advice at this point.

Should I leave it alone for another 24 hours and repitch if there is no activity?

Also, the only thing I have to repitch is Munton's Dry Yeast. What happens if I use a different yeast than originally pitched?

Any ideas or suggestions would be appreciated? Thank you.

62 sounds a bit cold... I usually have mine at about 68 and have airlock activity for 36 to 48 hours. Let it warm up a little I would suggest between 65 and 68. Leave it there and don't touch it for at least a week.

Leave it alone for another 2-3 days. I would say the bubbles you saw initially were just from the temperature changing. Your fermentation is probably just now starting given the low temperature.

As to using the Munton's, I don't know what strain that is but it will give the beer a bit of a different taste. How much depends on how different the yeasts are.