Gluten free and vegan beer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Asaf_R

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

i am really new to beer brewing...just started reading the "how to brew" book,
until a year and a half i was drinking beer without worrying about gluten :)
due to Celiac i stopped drinking beer at all and lately (after a few parties that i had nothing to drink :))) i was thinking to make some beer brewing at home that i will be able to take with me to some dinners\parties and stuff like that.

can someone give me the most basic recipe for GF beer that i should start with?
(i forgot to mention i am also vegan so it's need to be without honey\gelatin\isenglass)
what is basic equipment i need to buy for GF beer brewing?

and just one more thing, how widely is the use of gelatin\isenglass in GF beers?

Thanks in advance,
Asaf.

Asaf,

Welcome. First thing I'd suggest is take a look at the GF Recipes Section, there are about 20 recipes there now.

In any of the recipes that use honey you could play with substituting Agave Syrup, Molasses, Sorghum Molasses (not Sorghum syrup), Maple Syrup, etc.

Instead of Gelatin or Isenglass use Irish Moss in the boil. Cold crashing can also help to clear a beer instead of the Gelatin/isenglass. I'm not sure how widely gelatin or isenglass are used in production.

Your best bet for knowing basic equipment is check out Northern Brewer or Midwest. Look at what they include in their basic equipment kits and use that to think about what you want to do. 2.5 gallon, 5 gallon, 10 gallon, Bottle with crown cap or flip top, 5L party keg, Corny keg, etc. From there you can decide if you want to order the kit or order al la carte, you could also talk to someone at your Local Home Brew Store.

Good luck

Thanks!!