Recipe help- Gout-Remedy ale

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
So here's the deal, I've been brewing for about 8 years and found out two years ago that my infrequent gout-flare ups may be due to beer, especially homebrew.

I've had the idea of incorporating some of the prominent gout treatments into a homebrew, primarily out of spite. For those of you lucky enough to not be concerned about it, gout remedies include:

• cherries
  • green tea
  • coffee
  • ginger
  • kale/romaine/leafy greens except spinach for some stupid reason
  • vitamin C
  • baking soda

I'm thinking of making a low abv cherry-ginger ale (maybe a saison) with some orange peel for vitamin C. I'm thinking something not too hopped so it will have a little shelf life

My main questions: any other homebrewers that suffer from gout that want to complain about it with me? and: Any thoughts on recipes or ideas for this brew?

Aside from the greens and baking soda, depending on your water profile, being undesirable the possibilities with the remainder are endless. I've brewed with all of those.

A brown ale for fall with cherries or coffee. Or a light summer beer with ginger or tea. Those are the two that immediately come to mind.

Right, I'm trying to think of how to include as many of the remedies as possible without it being TOO stupid

I'm thinking a brown ale with coffee, cherries, and ginger.

I'm thinking a brown ale with coffee, cherries, and ginger.

Combining all of those would probably muddle the flavor profile for me but if you think it'll be good, give it hell. I think ginger and orange pair nicely and you could probably get away with tea in there. I also feel cherries and coffee would work.

Just offering things that appeal to me.