Recipe discrepancies: software vs kit

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cerv

Reaction score
Hello fellow brewers, I'm new here... I've been getting into homebrewing for some time, mostly all-grain kits for 5 gal. I have used kits before and was happy enough with the end result without paying much attention to a more scientific approach, but now I'm aiming for more consistent results and thought a kit/software pairing would be a good place to start.

I've never used any brewing software before, nor do I have any experience designing my own recipes, so I decided to take the recipe/instructions included in the kit and input them into BeerSmith2 and Brewtoad, expecting to see at least matching OG and IBUs, alas, but no.

The recipe in question is an American IPA from Austin Homebrew Supply:

Pale 2-row: 10.5 lb
Crystal 60L: 0.5 lb
Crystal 40L: 0.5 lb
Carapils: 0.5 lb (extra)

Magnum: 1 oz 60 min
Cluster: 1 oz 15 min
Falconer's Flight: 0.5 oz 5 min

When I input that into the software it throws a lower OG than the instructions specify and is also outside the IBU boundaries for an American IPA: OG's Kit: 1.056, Brewtoad: 1.005, BeerSmith2: 1.063

So my main question is, who or what should I believe for accurate recipe descriptions (IBU, SRM, expected ABV, etc.)? Is something wrong with the way I'm using the software? Any ideas as to why I've got these discrepancies?

Thanks in advance :)

I'm thinking it has to do with efficiencies. Austin assumes an efficiency when they make the kit. In brew smith you can set whatever efficiency you want. I'm guessing the same with brew toad.

I bet somewhere on Austin's website they prob list their assumed efficiency. You can then change your efficiency in brew smith to match it and then they OG should be the same.