Recipe Advice

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Abrayton

Reaction score
Thanks for all of the feedback on my "which hop" post! Perhaps I could get some advice/critique of the recipe I put together. This is my first attempt so I'm sure some things are way off. I posted this on the "which hop" thread but figured it might work better to create a new thread.
Cheers!

Belgian Tripel
5.5 gallon ABV 9.89%
OG 1.082 FG 1.008
IBUs 34.1 SRM 4.7

14lb Belgian Pilsner (2 Row)
1.56lb table sugar
2oz Styrian Goldings (60 min)
1oz Styrian Goldings (5 min)
WLP530 slurry
Mash 148 for 90 min
Single infusion batch sparge
Boil 90 min

I brewed a tripel with a similar recipe that won me a gold medal at a homebrew competition.I mixed some Saaz with the Goldings,used a pound of torrified wheat and used Dry Belgian Ale (Yeast Bay).

The ingredients look spot on.
I'd suggest a different mash schedule though. A lot of Belgian brewers mash with low and high conversion steps - this leaves a few more dextrins that are important for the frothy head that belgian ales should have. Try 144F for 30mins then 160F for 30mins.

Only my second all grain brew and I'm not sure I'm ready for multi-step infusions yet. I know single infusion won't get me spot on with the style but I'm trying to come up with a schedule that will come close. I'm probably overthinking the complexity of multi-step but I feel I need to get my brewing process down and my equipment calibrated first.