Black Rye IPA Recipe Formulation

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

biersmith

Reaction score
Hello, HomebrewTalk!

I have no experience in recipe formulation, so I'm hoping for some input on a recipe idea I have. I'm trying to create this recipe without completely basing it off of something already out there.

Please take a look and critique! Here's what I'm looking at...

Recipe Type: All Grain
Yeast: Wyeast British Ale 1098
Yeast Starter: No
Additional Yeast or Yeast Starter: No
Batch Size (Gallons): 5.5 gal
Original Gravity: 1.062
Final Gravity: 1.016
IBU: 65
Boiling Time (Minutes): 60
Color: 33.5 SRM
Primary Fermentation (# of Days & Temp): 14 @ 68*F
Secondary Fermentation (# of Days & Temp): 28 days @ 72*F

9.5 lbs Rahr 2-row
4.5 lbs Rye Malt
0.5 lbs Carafa II Special
0.5 lbs Black Patent
0.5 lbs Special Roast

1 oz. Centennial 60 min.
1 oz. Centennial 30 min.
1 oz. Centennial 15 min.
1 oz. Centennial 0 min
1 oz. Centennial dry hop

Mash: 154*F, 60 min

Efficiency: 70%

Looks like a fun recipe to try. One thing though: there is no need for a 28 day secondary fermentation. After 2 weeks in primary (maybe 3, depending on when fermentation is complete), transfer to secondary and dryhop for 1 week and then bottle.

Good advice. I'll change that.

Any other thoughts on the ingredients? Does it seem like a feasible Black IPA/Rye beer to you?

A few notes, but as I am a novice maybe have a pro confirm:

- large amount of rye, will it mash right?
- for an OG over 1.060 I think you should double pitch or use a starter

Good luck! My black imperial came out very tasty and it was a partial mash.

You can use malted rye just fine. You will probably want to use rice hulls to avoid a stuck mash. Or maybe use rye LME instead.

forstmeister said: