SSR issue

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bruwsomtin

Reaction score
I have a PID running a SSR that controls my heating element in my RIMS tube. It is a 25 amp relay and the element is 1500 watt (12.5 amp). I have been using this system for about two years and the relay always ran quiet..the last brew session it started a humming noise when the element is on. The heat sink never gets hot to touch. I was wondering what is causing this noise to suddenly appear.

I run a 40amp SSR pushing a 5500w element (23amp) - my heat sink gets warm, not hot - but noticably warm. Do you have good thermal contact between the SSR and the heat sink? If your heat sink isn't getting hot, it's possible that it's not dissipating the heat like it should be.

The reason the relay humms or buzzes is that the pole faces on the relay are not aligning properly. This could be a result of the relay being out in the weather and developing a coat of rust on it. If the relay stops the noise when given a tap on its side then that is the cause.