Re intro: How Covid-19 turned me into a homebrewer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

letsallgoforasoda

Reaction score
I first found this forum back in January when I was trying to find as much info on homemade root beer and sodas. I am a cook by trade and have always had some kind of fermentation going in a closet or cabinet kraut, kimchi, hot sauce, miso paste, and what ever else I can find. I think I learned how to can food from a high chair, so kitchens and the never ending quest for the fine tuned process are two things I am passionate about. I am lucky to have a lhbs just a couple miles down the road. Beer wasn't really something I had thought about making I was just there for bottles, starsan, yeast, ect

Fast forward to early march, People are starting to work from home and being a cook at a large corporate tech campus I don't have any work I can do from home so I had a whole bunch of free time, and being in King county, no where to go. I started reading up on extract brewing with specialty grains so I ordered a couple of one gallon kits and gave it a try. the first beer I made a NB irish red was really good so I figured why not make more. Two fermenters, a wort chiller, a stir plate, a flask, oxygen wand, and a old dorm fridge for the two keg system that's shipping now, later I guess I have found myself a new hobby

Welcome to the obsession. You are staring down a rabbit hole, but it is a fun rabbit hole and you can take it as far as you like. Enjoy the fruits of your labor. LOL :mug:

Very nice! I've been putting off a miso/soy sauce fermentation experiment. It seems like so much work. How did you start the koji?

Welcome! Glad to have you on the team.