Rahmdog from Houston

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rahmdog

Reaction score
Hello to everyone on HBT! I am a graduate student in Houston, TX hoping to start brewing again soon. I have brewed five times with the first being an unmitigated disaster, then next three being solid, and the last one being somewhat disappointing. I use a 7-gallon plastic bucket as a primary bottle condition. I have only brewed extract w/ specialty grain kits so far. I look forward to learning more and becoming a better brewer in the years to come.

My current issues:

- I have been told that plastic buckets need to be replaced after several brews as cleaning and sanitization become increasingly difficult due to the microporous nature of the plastic. I am not sure how to know when the bucket is no longer usable and am torn between switching to a glass carboy to avoid this problem. I have also heard that food-grade liners can be used but have not seen them at the LHBS.

- I just moved to a new apartment where heating and cooling are now paid for by me, as a result the heating and cooling is left off. I have been taking temperature readings three times a day for five days and the variance is 27.1 C to 17.9 C, that is huge. I need to find a way to control the temperature as I have read that is a huge issue. I was thinking large tub filled with water and an aquarium heater.

- I have a small electric stove that i doubt can heat up 5 gallons of wort to a rolling boil, so my plan is to buy a propane burner, just waiting for a good deal to pop up.