Question before I start drilling holes.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ryan_M

Reaction score
I'm new to brewing- never brewed before - and I'm working on getting my gear setup. I've bought it in pieces and changed what I want to do a couple times so far. I'm now setting up an electric three kettle HERMs system. I have two 10gal kettles and a 16gal kettle. I see most three kettle setups typically use the same size pot for all three but I don't want to buy more kettles. I was planning on using the 10gal kettles for the HLT and MLT and the 16 for the BK and am wondering if this is the best plan.

FWIW The original plan was to do 5gal batches but from what I've read I should have enough capacity to be able to do 10gal batches.

Thanks for any help!
Ryan

I posted this question in the beginner section this morning. Lot of views but no replies - I probably put it in the wrong spot. Newb mistake.

Anyway some parts are going to be here likely tomorrow and I want to get started on this. So I'm new to brewing- never brewed before - and I'm working on getting my gear setup. I've bought it in pieces and changed what I want to do a couple times so far. I'm now setting up an electric three kettle HERMs system. I have two 10gal kettles and a 16gal kettle. I see most three kettle setups typically use the same size pot for all three but I don't want to buy more kettles. I was planning on using the 10gal kettles for the HLT and MLT and the 16 for the BK and am wondering if this is the best plan.

FWIW The original plan was to do 5gal batches but from what I've read I might have enough capacity to be able to do 10gal batches.

Thanks for any help!
Ryan