Pump House Ales.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Leadpencil

Reaction score
Everyone here has a story and this one is mine.

This is a combination of all my diy projects in one thread. Don't ask the cost because I don't want to make myself cry. :mug:

I started brewing four years ago and knew it was the hobby for me. I wanted a dedicated space so I started rebuilding the pump house. I live in the country and my well is in its own building.

My brewery is a 24 x 12 outbuilding. It was empty except for some scrap lumber and the well pump in the basement.
I ripped out the broken concrete floor and poured a new slab inside and out.
i-Lx5KRHG-M.jpg

i-T5bHgqf-M.jpg

i-F2C4PsQ-M.jpg

Somehow I managed to lose some photos. The cats were kind enough to give their seal of approval on our concrete pour.
i-8w9ppZS-M.jpg

I insulated the walls, wrapped them in plastic and sheeted them in 1/2 OSB. The brewing half was then covered in FRP.
The only power to the building was a 20 amp circuit for the pump and a light. This wasn't going to work at all. I trenched in a 100 amp service line from the barn just to run the brewery part. I wanted to keep the well circuit separate.
I scored an old PTAC unit from work for temperature controls.
i-zH5vXQw-M.jpg

I built an exhaust hood from some duct work and a 640cfm fan I got off craigslist.
I got a 48 x 16 x 8 piece of trunkline and some end caps to build a hood.
i-MSQZXCc-M.jpg

i-jZnBd87-M.jpg

i-PjBNTtn-M.jpg

i-ndt7438-M.jpg

Next update will be the control panel and fermentation/storage chamber

My first control panel was small with a single PID that I would switch between the boil kettle and hot liquor tank. I wanted my next panel to be able to run everything independently.