How many bottles to harvest yeast?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bcmeyer

Reaction score
I have an IPA in bottles with Wyeast American Ale II 1272 in it. I want to harvest it for a recipe that I am doing soon. This is my first time harvesting from a bottle (well really harvesting at all). The process seems simple enough, but I was curious of how many bottles I should harvest from? Also, is there any way to know how much yeast I have? Either from the initial bottle yeast or after I step it up? Thanks!

I've harvested from one can/bottle with great success, but if you have a few bottles you can cut down time by harvesting from multiples. Essentially I just kept building slowly with low gravity wort until I got a measurable amount of yeast that I could then use for calculating cell count.

I successfully harvested yeast from 3 bottles of commercial craft beer. I stepped up a small starter up to a 2 liter one. Fermentation started a couple hours later and I ended up with an awesome beer. I actually used the same yeast cake for the 4th time today.

However, from what I've read, you should use 5 or 6. But it worked very well with 3 for me.

Go for it, it is a really easy thing to do, but be really careful about sanitation !

Cheers !

I've used as much as 12 bottles before. The more you use the more yeast you get with less growth needed. If I'm doing that and drinking the beer as I go along, I spray sanitizer on the neck/lip of the bottle, re-cap them with sanitized FRESH caps and store in the fridge til I get as many as I plan on using. Then I sanitize the cap on each, uncap them, flame the lip of the bottle, and spray with sanitizer before decanting the yeast.