Problem solving off flavor

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rob Roy

Reaction score
Hey all, I'm still pretty new to brewing. I've now done 5 batches and all but one has ended up with the same off flavor to the point of almost undrinkable and I'm having trouble figuring out what it is. I seem to follow everything correctly. Mash temps are good ,fermentation temps and longevity seems right and good sanitation practices. What's interesting is the beers with off flavor are Pale ale, IPA, and English bitter while the good batch was a coffee stout. I know little about water chemistry but I wonder if the water used is the issue. I use Los Angeles tap water filtered through a Brita faucet.

Maybe the one good batch being a darker style is coincidence?

The flavor is hard to describe. I don't believe it to be Acetaldehyde or Diacetyl though.

Fementation process had been roughly two weeks in primary and roughly two weeks in bottles before refrigeration. All four weeks maintaining around 70 degrees

Last edited:
I just took a look at my city water report. 170 alkalinity. Might that be the issue? Probably going to use bottled water for my next batch.

Here's a website that lists some common off-flavors. I'd recommend reading it and seeing if one of them seems to be what you're experiencing.

https://learn.kegerator.com/off-flavors-in-beer/

How are you brewing? 3-vessel, BIAB (Brew in a Bag), extract?

What kind of yeast are you using? And how are you controlling fermentation temperature?

It's possible that water is the issue. I don't know the ins and outs of water, but my tap water has 16.4 alkalinity. It doesn't hurt to try bottled water (Reverse Osmosis, Distilled, Spring, etc) to see if the off flavor goes away.