Help needed please

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

klaperruque

Reaction score
Hi all,
So this is my first time doing a homebrew and picked up a pliny clone. I followed the instructions to a t and everything seemed to go well. I started with a gravity reading of 1.095 and piched my yeast. It took about 15 hours and then went crazy and it blew out of my air lock. I quickly cleaned it up and switched from a air lock to a blow off tube into some sanitazed water and the crazinees continued for about 12 hours. I am now on day 4 ( I started Tuesday night) and things have mellowed out. I am supposed to wait about one week and then transfer the beer for my dry hopping and 2nd fermentaion. Is this the right thing to do or should I wait longer? My other question is what should my end gravity reading be at before I aad my priming sugar and begin to bottle. I thank you for any help.

Slainte

Ken

"Second fermentation" is actually a bit of a misnomer. You want fermentation to complete before you start your dry hop. At that point, you dry hop for how ever long the recipe calls for then bottle. The recipe should give you a target FG that you want to shoot for. If not, if you post the recipe, someone can probably give you an approximate target. You'll want to wait until the beer gets near that target and is stable for a few days.

Also you say "add my priming sugar". Make sure you aren't adding that to the fermenter. You want to dissolve it into a small amount of boiling water, pour that into a bottling bucket and then track your beer onto it. Then bottle from that. I'm sure you meant that, but just thought I'd clarify since you're a new brewer.