What to brew

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chad28

Reaction score
Hello, I'm new to beer brewing and I'm very excited to brew my own beer. I wasn't sure where to post this so please feel free to move it wherever. I have been thinking about brewing for all long time now, and I'm really unsure where to start.

I have asked a lot of the people I know about brewing my own beer, and they tell me not to brew my own beer because it all taste horrible. Needless to say this has crushed my dreams of brewing something that my wife and I would enjoy.

My wife and I drink bud light primarly but can't say that I love it. I haven't really had an opportunity to drink beers of other verities, because I'm unsure what to buy. I do like wheat beer and believe that there has to be something better than what I'm currently drinking.

Thanks for any help and advice.

I would try a Belgian Blonde. They are smooth, delicious, a little fruity and a great transitional beer from BMC (Bud Miller Coors) type beers.

People saying that homebrewing beer will taste horrible are simply ignorant. You can buy a kit from a LHBS and make pretty darned fantastic beer, especialy if you follow the stickies and advice of this forum.

Rich, dark, hoppy beers are a pretty far jump from BMC. Doesn't mean you won't love them, but a straightforward, clean beer is an easier transition.

Don't let people tell you that your own beer would taste horrible. There are thousands of people out there brewing their own homebrew not only because they enjoy it, but because it tastes better than many name brands out there. Not to mention, it's fun being able to tinker with recipes, make something geared toward your desires, and then drink the final product knowing it was your creation :)