Munton's syrup--any good?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brewpood

Reaction score
Newbie here, brewing with extract or partial mash. I have a recipe that includes Munton's light malt syrup. Is that any good? I usually get LME from Northern Brewer or Midwest Supplies, and that's been good. Will this be even better or a step down? Thanks!

It really depends on where you get it from, has it sat on a shelf for years. Northern Brewer and Midwest have a high turnover so theirs would be fresh. Other than that whatever specialty grains you add would have a greater effect.

I would say if any change it would be a slight step down from Northern Brewer. I have never used Midwest's. YMMV.

Thanks! I decided to buy the Munton's to use in combination with 2# of Midwest Supplies LME that has been in my fridge for just under 3 weeks. The date on the Munton's can (after the X number) is 2348. I think that means the 348th day of 2012. I hope it's not the 348th day of 2002! Any experience with this?

I checked Palmer's last night, and he says fresh is best, and that old cans can mean you get the tang people talk about. I wonder if I should trade in the Munton's can and toss out the 2#, or if this will be OK. I'm doing partial mash, so extract will be the major
but not the only malt source.

When I do partial mash,the grains account for 50% of the fermentables. I use the fresh wort for hop additions. So the extract goes in as a flame out addition. With 365 days in a year,the 348th day would be late last year,making it December 14th. It should be ok as a flame out addition. The one in the fridge is younger,so use it in the boil if you have to.
I like Munton's plain DME's myself. Good flavors & no worries with darkening & the like as with LME.