Hoppy American Wheat critique

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rodrigo3586

Reaction score
Hey all. I'm several batches into my all-grain BIAB technique and have finally put together my own recipe. I was hoping to hear some feedback about my recipe. I'm located in Korea and the only grains available are Weyermann, so that explains why I'm using Weyermann pils and wheat malts, rather than American 2-Row and wheat. I am wanting a beer that has a subtle bitterness, but hits you in the face with a full hoppy citrus aroma. I know this doesn't fit into BJCP style guidelines, but hey...I brew for myself, not competitions/judges. Any feedback would be appreciated as I plan on brewing this one tomorrow night. Again, I'm a newb, so take it easy on me if this recipe sucks.

Expected OG: 1.055 SG
Expected FG: 1.013 SG
Apparent Attenuation: 76%
Expected ABV: 5.5 %
Expected IBU: 37 IBU
Expected Color: 3 SRM
Boil: 90 minutes

Fermentables

2.53KG Weyermann Wheat Malt
2.53KG Weyermann Pils

Hops

60 mins-Centennial (pellet) 10.5% .5oz
15 mins-Amarillo (pellet) 9.5% .5oz
10 mins-Amarillo (pellet) 9.5% .5oz
5 mins-Amarillo (pellet) 9.5% .5oz
Dry Hop-Amarillo (pellet) 9.5% 1oz

Yeast

Wyeast 1010-American Wheat

Sorry if I'm missing anything here, this is my first time to submit a recipe on here. I typically mash around 67 C for 1 hour and mash out at 76 C for 10 mins. My efficiency usually is around 65-70%.Anyone think I should add a small percentage of crystal to this recipe? Any suggestions with my hops/hop schedule?

Cheers ya'll

Looks good to me. Check out 8wired.co.nz. They do hay wired which is essentially what your doing. It fits perfectly into the specialty category anyways....