San Diego Water questions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Beercules1

Reaction score
I'm new to brewing and live in San Diego...
For now, I use a Camco filter to run my water through, but wondering if anyone has done any sort of other adjustments. Ballast point says they use their local water and just run it through a carbon filter to remove chlorine.

When playing around in BS2 is shows how you can adjust water for making Irish Reds for example using water identical to those in Ireland for authenticity. Is this worth the hassel?

Is the Camco filter good enough?

I don't do anything but i know some folks who use filters or DI, no discernible differences in our beers tho. Note that different areas of San Diego are fed by different water sources and if you truly want to dial it in you need to get a water test done (Ward labs: http://www.wardlab.com)

If you're new to brewing please note that you will get a lot more bang for your buck doing other things for beer quality than messing with the water. Mash temp, ph, ingredients, etc. Our water is good enough for all the breweries we have!

btw, here's a report from the PQ area (up the 15 near the 56):

pH 8.0
Total Dissolved Solids (TDS) Est, ppm 296
Electrical Conductivity, mmho/cm 0.49
Cations / Anions, me/L 4.5 / 4.2

ppm
Sodium, Na 49
Potassium, K 3
Calcium, Ca 26
Magnesium, Mg 12
Total Hardness, CaCO3 115
Nitrate, NO3-N 0.4 (SAFE)
Sulfate, SO4-S 18
Chloride, Cl 58
Carbonate, CO3 3
Bicarbonate, HCO3 78
Total Alkalinity, CaCO3 69
Total Phosphorus, P 0.54
Total Iron, Fe < 0.01
"<" - Not Detected / Below Detection Limit