Overwhelmed with info. Need some help please

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

epicbrew

Reaction score
Hello All

I am new to this and always procrastinated about home brew. I am finally taking the leap and in need of help. Been watching YT, reading books and forums but still feel so lost. Before I start my journey, need for clarifications.

1. Ales are easier to brew than lager?
2. I live in tropical climate, so room temp here is around 25 degrees celcius (77 Fahrenheit). Will it be difficult for me to brew lager in this temp or do I need a chiller?
3. Do all grains beer turn out better tasting than malt extract beer?
4. What is mash temperature and strike temperature?
5. What does it mean when a recipe says original gravity and final gravity?
6. I've seen in videos of people boiling the water to a certain temperature first before inserting the grain sack and leave it in 60-90 mins. However in other videos I see people stirring the pot once they put the grains in. Which is the right way?

Sorry for these newbie questions. Hope you guys can help.

Thank you.

-True lager yeast ferments (without off flavors) at lower temps which makes temp control a requirement. Ale yeast have a higher temp range which makes them easier.
2. I live in tropical climate, so room temp here is around 25 degrees celcius (77 Fahrenheit). Will it be difficult for me to brew lager in this temp or do I need a chiller?
-at that temp you may look at using some sort of cooling for your ales. Fermentation will generate heat and drive your temp up and may create some off flavors for you at your current temps.
I wouldn't attempt lager yeast at all w/o temp control.