Only One Keg Pouring Foam--Not the Line, Tap, Temp, PSI. Help me, HBT, you're my only hope!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tennesseean_87

Reaction score
I'm still new at this, but I'm flummoxed. I ahve one beer pouring 3/4 foam and 1/4 flat beer.

I've got a 3 tap setup with a tower. First pour is always a bit more foamy, but fine. Two lines are pouring very well. One is a belgian golden strong at 12 psi and the other is a stout at 7 psi. The problem beer (red ale) is also at 7 psi. I have temp probe in a water bottle and set to ~4.3C=39.X F. I just measured the temp with a multimeter and thermocouple and both the stout and red read (hahaha) 49F on the outside of the keg. To reiterate, two beers are pouring fine.

Other details: I'm using intertap flow control faucets. I have used 50' total of Accuflex bev seal ultra 3/16". IIRC, the Belgian has about 21', the stout about 17', and the red (foamy) about 12'. I have adjusted the flow rate on the faucets, and both the Belgian and Stout pour faster with less foam.

I have ruled out an issue with the line and the faucet by pouring the stout through the red faucet and pouring the red through the stout faucet. The issue is with the beer or the keg. Stout pours fine through the red tap/line and red pours crummily through the stout tap/line.

The issue began with my last beer, an IPA with keg hops. I assumed the issue was the keg hops, removed them after a few weeks, and finished off the keg. It was pretty foamy. After I kicked the keg, I brewed the red, and put it in my spare keg, not the one the IPA had been in. It poured well as it was finishing carbonating, but after about two weeks on gas got unreasonably foamy (IPA did similar--fine at first, then foamy).