Keezer Help

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jackdog

Reaction score
Hello

I am new to home brewing (just tasted my first brew and brewed my second batch). I decided to build a keezer just because I could tell I wouldn't have the patience for bottling and I like draught any way.

I spent many hours on here checking out builds and finally built one. I bought an 8.8 ft3 Kenmore and the Love controller TSX-10140 and am having a killer time with temperature control. I did put the probe in water as most people have done but cant figure out what's going on. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.

There are a couple pics attached but if it helps I am happy to take more

IMG_0041.jpg

IMG_0045.jpg

I set it at 39/40 and it will drop to 34/35 or go up to 44/45. I insulated and sealed the heck out of it. I did notice a lot of people use fans to move the air around and thought i would try that next.

Thanks, the copper is roof flashing.

It is the nature of chest freezers to overshoot the target temperature. The system fills the cooling loop until it's told to stop, but the loop is still filled with working fluid transitioning to vapor until it reaches equilibrium, and that endothermic process doesn't just stop because the controller said "Stop".

But the observation point matters: if you tightly couple the probe to something with a large thermal mass, you'll see a much tighter temperature swing that a glass of water will show, which in turn is tighter than the free-air temperature swing.