New member and brewer from Minnesota

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Todd Butts

Reaction score
Hey all! Stumbled across this forum searching google for something. I started brewing about a month ago and like all newbies, my head of full of questions.

I have made four batches so far:
1. 1 gallon of American Wheat. My first batch. Turns out the threads on the cap were wrong from the factory so the batch was bad. Not awesome for my very first attempt. Kind of irritating really.

2. 5 gallons of Stout. Yielded 49 beers. This turned out pretty good i think.

3. 1 gallon of Maple/Honey Mead. This is still fermenting. I am really looking forward to this for some reason.

4. 5 gallons of Sweet Pear Wine. I just started this the other day.

I am having so much fun doing this new hobby. I have notes, logs of temps, times, days, etc.

Anyways, hope to learn from the vets, and post some pics and notes soon.

Cheers!

Todd

Welcome, Todd. What method of brewing are you using - tins/kits, extract, partial mash or all-grain?

Let's see. The American Wheat was a malt like powder. The Stout was grain and extract, and this new one i just got but haven't started yet, is all grain. That is an English Pale Ale.

I don't have a ton of equipment yet, so figuring out how to do things has been interesting. The biggest brew kettle I have is 5 gallons. That isn't going to cut it for the Pale Ale. I need at least a 10 gallon kettle.

Wow, that's an impressive learning curve - All grain in three batches!
Yes, you will need a bigger kettle for a 5 gal full-boil batch. Also, one of the biggest challenges that new brewers face, you'll need a good method for cooling. You'll be surprised how hard it is to quickly chill 5 gal of boiling wort.