New Chiller (First One)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Aaron1983

Reaction score
Well, this is my first attempt at creating a chiller for my wort. It basically recirculates the wort in my fermenter until the temperature comes down. It's made with 10 feet of 3/8 copper tubing, a drill pump, a few lenghts of vinyl hose, a bucket, and some clamps. Simply fill the white bucket up with ice water, hook up the pump inlet to the spigot on the fermenter, connect the chiller outlet to the top of the fermenting bucket, and start the drill.

During testing, I managed to get my wort from 180 degrees, to about 84 in about 20 minutes. The only other thing I had to do was change out the ice-water about two times. A bag of ice will pretty much suffice for cooling about five gallons.

Chiller.jpg

I use a similar idea and was pondering pumping glycol through yet another hole in the bru frig (freezer actually) to a well chilled reservoir. anyone try anything like this? My thoughts at this point are that I'd need a large volume of coolant
and to make absolutely certain nothing leaked near my immersion chiller.
Also , very interested in peltier coolers
Great picture BTW.

Build a good counterflow chiller and your problems are over.

No ice to buy.

Quickly cools wort in minutes.

Uses tap water as the coolant.

You can adjust how cool you want the wort (varies with groundwater temperature).

Can be used without a pump

WBC said:

No ice to buy.

Uses tap water as the colant.

You can adjust how cool you want the wort (varies with groundwater temperature).