New brewer....need help!!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gmrec

Reaction score
I am new to brewing, my wife bought me the Coopers kit for Christmas, came with the original lager. Followed the instructions to a tee and never was able to reach the OG like instructions said. All good, first batch and wasn't expecting everything to go smooth, left it in the fermenter for an extra week before bottling and adding carbonation drops. Let it sit for 2 weeks in the bottle before trying, wasn't bad......but I think because of the low gravity it has low alcohol.
So I am a hoppy IPA guy, so for my second kit I ordered the coopers IPA, again followed everything for a 23l batch but after I had it in the fermenter I seen on the package that it recommended adding 1kg of malt extract!!!! that I didn't have.....my OG was suppose to he 1.04 something....but when i tested it was only 1.020. so now I am a week into the fermentation and tested again and it's 1.010..
What should I do???? I now have malt extract but is it to late? can I add simple sugar? I also have some hops to try dry hopping.
Any suggestions on what to do to save my IPA??

One of the first things that I learned and obviously blew off when starting is water chemistry. Particularly Ph. My first few batches were random at best. A couple good, a couple that just sucked.

Water Ph significantly impacts your brewing efficiency. Meaning, how much of the potential sugars in the grain are converted to fermentable sugars in the wort. Does this impact extract brewing? I dont know as I never brewed extracts. However I would think that the water chemistry would have some impact.