Need some roasting advice

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

caferacer73

Reaction score
I'm new to home roasting. Been wanting to do it for a few years and finally took action.

I'm using a Whirely-pop with a thermometer that reads up to 650F on the side burner of my gas grill. I have been roasting about 8oz at a time. I let the Whirley-pop heat up to about 500F before I add the beans. I monitor temp during roasting and try to keep the the air temp inside the Whirley-pop between 300-400F. I'm ok up until the 1st crack and that's when things don't go so well.

My first batch I did I never heard the 2nd crack and burned the beans. Attempt #2 I pulled them off a few minutes after the 1st crack and ended up with a lighter roast (too light for my liking). I don't think I ever reached the 2nd crack. My latest attempt I waited a few minutes longer after the first crack and somehow still ended up burning the beans. I was listening for the 2nd crack and never heard it as well. I'm in a quiet area and the only sound is coming from the cranking of the Whirley-pop, which is one rotation every 2-3 seconds, so not very loud.

Any advice would be extremely helpful.

Identifying the cracks can be tough with some varieties of beans. Are you roasting the same type of coffee bean each time to dial it in or are you experimenting with different varieties?